Editorial Team

Section Peer-reviewers.

Section of Immunology and Molecular biology

Dr. Gyaviira Nkurunungi (Ph.D.)

  • Research Scientist, Medical Research Council/Uganda Virus Research Institute and London school of hygiene and tropical medicine.
  • Email: gyaviira.nkurunungi@lshtm.ac.uk

Dr. Prossy Wamanga (Ph.D.)

  • Scientific officer, Uganda Virus Research Institute- EPI Laboratory
  • Email: pnamuwulya@uvri.go.ug

Section of Internal Medicine

Dr. Davis Kibirige (MD, Ph.D.)

  • Specialist physician, Uganda Martyrs Hospital Lubaga.
  • Research Scientist, MRC/UVRI, and LSHTM Uganda Research Unit.
  • Email: Davis.Kibirige@mrcuganda.org

Section of Mental Health and Psychiatry.

Dr. Kiyingi Frank Pio (Ph.D.)

  • Senior Lecturer, Counselling Psychologist.
  • Academic Registrar, Nkumba University.
  • Email: frank.kiyingi@sjhresearchafrica.org

Dr. Allan Kalungi (Ph.D.)

  • Department of Psychiatry, Makerere University
  • Email: allan.karungi@sjhresearchafrica.org

Ms. Otwine Anne Tweheyo

  • Dean Faculty of Nursing and Health Sciences, Bishop Stuart University.
  • Email: aotweheyo@nbs.bsu.ac.ug

Sr. Dr. Nnantamu Jane Frances (Ph.D.)

  • Dean, Faculty of Social Sciences and Psychology, University of Kisubi
  • Email: jnnantamu@unik.ac.ug

Section of Histochemistry and Cell biology:

Mr. William Muyombya (Msc)

  • Lecturer, School of Bio-Security, Biotechnical and Laboratory Sciences - Makerere University.
  • Email: william.muyombya@sjhresearchafrica.org

Section of Community and Public Health

Dr. Christopher Ddamulira (Ph.D.)
  • A senior Scientist, Uganda National Council for Science and Technology (UNCST)
  • Email: christopher.ddamulira@sjhresearchafrica.org

Dr. Daniel Bwogere (MD, Ph.D.)

  • Lecturer, Faculty of Health Sciences - University of Kisubi.
  • Email: daniel.bwogere@sjhresearchafrica.org

Ms. Jane Kasozi Namagga ( MNSc, BNS, RN)

  • Lecturer, Faculty of Medicine- Mbarara University of Science and Technology.
  • Email: jkasozi@must.ac.ug

Mr. Ndhego Ramadhan (Msc)

  • Principal, Department of Laboratory Sciences - St. Elizabeth’s Institute of Health Professionals.
  • Email: ramadhan.ndhego@sjhresearchafrica.org

Mr. Arthur Namara (MSc)

  • Research Scientist, MRC/UVRI and LSHTM Uganda Research Unit.
  • Email: Arthur.Namara@mrcuganda.org

Dr. Twalib J. Nzanzu (Ph.D)

  • Assistant Director Graduate School and Research, Kampala University
  • Email: twalibun@gmail.com

Mr. Brian Bukenya (MPEC) - The University of Manchester, UK

  • Lecturer, Team University
  • Email: brianbukenya.m@gmail.com

Dr. Dathan Mirembe Byonanebye (MD, Msc)

  • Lecturer, College of Health Sciences, Makerere University
  • Email:  dbyonanebye@musph.ac.ug

Section of Microbiology

Mr. Musisi Lubowa Nathan (Msc)

  • Head of Microbiology Laboratory.
  • Lecturer, Department of Biomolecular Resources & Biolab Sciences - Makerere University.
  • Email: nathan.musisi@sjhresearchafrica.org

Mr. Ibra Ntulume (MSc)

  • Lecturer, Department of Microbiology -Kampala International University.
  • Email: ibra.ntulume@sjhresearchafrica.org

Section of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Dr. Ben Jackson Ayiko (MD, MSc)

  • Gynaecologist & Obstetrician, Entebbe Regional Referral Hospital.
  • Lecturer, Faculty of Medicine- Islamic University in Uganda.
  • Email: ben.ayiko@sjhresearchafrica.org

Section of Biochemistry

Dr. Saphan Muzoora (Msc)

  • Head Biochemistry Department.
  • Lecturer, School of Bio-Security, Biotechnical and Laboratory Sciences – Makerere University
  • Email: muzoorasaph@covab.mak.ac.ug 

Mr. Timothy Omara (MSc)

  • Researcher- Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, School of Sciences and Aerospace Studies, Moi University.
  • Email: timothy.omara@sjhresearchafrica.org

Dr. Catherine N. Lwanira (Ph.D.)

  • Dean Post Graduate Studies and Research, Clarke International University.
  • Email: clwanira@ciu.ac.ug

Section of Pediatrics and Child Health

Dr. Monica Etima (MD,Msc)

  • Pediatrician, Makerere university water reed project (Muwrp)
  • Email: monica.etima@sjhresearchafrica.org

Section of Genetics, and Biotechnology

Dr. Florence Nassimbwa (Ph.D.).

  • Lecturer, Uganda Martyrs University.
  • Email: florence.nassimbwa@sjhresearchafrica.org

Section of Histopathology

Dr. Nabusige Jean Brenda Gesa

  • Senior Lecturer.
  • Head of Pathology Department, School of Health Sciences- Soroti University.
  • Email: jean.nabusige@sjhresearchafrica.org

Section of Agriculture, Human Nutrition and Home Economics

Mr. Andrew Seruma Kizito (Ph.D. Fellow)

  • Egerton University
  • Email: Andrew.seruma@sjhresearchafrica.org

Section of Educational Studies Research

Dr. Joyce Bukirwa  (Ph.D.)

  • Dean Faculty of Education, Muni University.
  • Email: jr.bukirwa@muni.ac.ug

Fr. Dr. Aloysius Lwanga Bukenya (Ph.D.)

  • Dean, School of Graduate Studies and Research
  • Email: alwangabuk@unik.ac.ug

Section of Information Technology and Computer Science Research

Dr. Ssegawa E. James Kiggundu (Ph.D.)

  • Head of Information Technology, Team University
  • Email: ssegawaejames@gmail.com

Section of Radiology and Medical Imaging

Mr. Richard Malumba (Msc)

  • Head of Research, Ernest Cook Ultrasound Research and Education Institute, (ECUREI)
  • Email: richardmalumba2@gmail.com

Advisory Committee Members

Prof. Andrew P. Yiga.

  • Former Academic Registrar- Nkumba University

Professor A. J. Lutalo-Bosa, BSc(Lond); MSc, Ph.D. (McGill)

  • Vice-Chancellor, Team University

Professor Maud Kamatenesi Mugisha (Ph.D.)

  • Vice-Chancellor, Bishop Stuart University

Professor Michael Kawooya (Ph.D.)

  • Deputy Principal, Ernest Cook Ultrasound Research and Education Institute, (ECUREI)

Dr. Katusiime Denis (Ph.D.)

  • Email: denis.katusiime@sjhresearchafrica.org
  • Senior Lecturer, and Assistant Director Planning and Development at the University of Kisubi.

Dr. Nixon Niyonzima (MD, Ph.D.)

  • Email: Nixon.niyonzima@uci.or.ug 
  • Head of Research and Training Directorate, Uganda Cancer Institute.

Journal Editors:

Mr. David Serunjogi (BBLT, Msc)

  • Email: david.serunjogi@sjhresearchafrica.org
  • Journal Coordinator
  • MRC/UVRI and LSHTM Uganda Research Unit.

Dr. Daniel Opoka (MD)

  • Email: Daniel.Opoka@mrcuganda.org
  • Clinical Trial Medical Officer
  • MRC/UVRI and LSHTM Uganda Research Unit.

Mr. Ivan Mufumba (MSc)

  • Email: ivan.mufumba@sjhresearchafrica.org
  • Clinical Epidemiologist
  • Global health Uganda.

Dr. Isiko Rodgers (MD)

  • Email: rodgers.isiko@sjhresearchafrica.org
  • Research
  • Masaka Regional Referral Hospital

Dr. Veronica Nyakato (MD, MSc)

  • Email: veronica.nyakato@sjhresearchafrica.org
  • Department of Pathology Mulago
  • Makerere University College of Health Sciences

Ethics review committee members

Mr. Sulaiman Mahmood Kakooza (MSc)

  • Health Tutor's College, Makerere University.
  • Email: sulaiman.kakooza@sjhresearchafrica.org

Ms. Josephine Namigadde (MSc)

  • Editor- Journal Coordinator
  • Email: josephine.namigadde@sjhresearchafrica.org