Editorial Team

Section Peer-reviewers.

Section of Immunology and Molecular biology

Dr. Gyaviira Nkurunungi (Ph.D.)

Email: gyaviira.nkurunungi@lshtm.ac.uk

Research Scientist

Medical Research Council/Uganda Virus Research Institute and London school of hygiene and tropical medicine.

Dr. Prossy Wamanga (Ph.D.)

Email: pnamuwulya@uvri.go.ug

Scientific officer

Uganda Virus Research Institute- EPI Laboratory

Section of Internal Medicine

Dr. Davis Kibirige (MD, Ph.D.)

Email: Davis.Kibirige@mrcuganda.org

Specialist physician.

Uganda Martyrs Hospital Lubaga.

Research Scientist- MRC/UVRI and LSHTM Uganda Research Unit.

Section of Mental Health and Psychiatry.

Dr. Kiyingi Frank Pio (Ph.D.)

Email: frank.kiyingi@sjhresearchafrica.org

Counselling Psychologist.

Senior Lecturer.

Faculty of Human and Social Sciences- University of Kisubi.

Dr. Allan Kalungi (Ph.D.)

Email: allan.karungi@sjhresearchafrica.org

Department of Psychiatry, Makerere University

Ms. Otwine Anne Tweheyo

Email: aotweheyo@nbs.bsu.ac.ug

Dean Faculty of Nursing and Health sciences.

Bishop Stuart University.

Section of Histochemistry and Cell biology:

Mr. William Muyombya (Msc)

Email: william.muyombya@sjhresearchafrica.org


School of Bio-Security, Biotechnical and Laboratory Sciences - Makerere University.

Section of Community and Public Health

Dr. Christopher Ddamulira (Ph.D.)
Email: christopher.ddamulira@sjhresearchafrica.org
A senior Scientist
Uganda National Council for Science and Technology (UNCST)

Dr. Daniel Bwogere (MD, Ph.D.)

Email: daniel.bwogere@sjhresearchafrica.org


Faculty of Health Sciences - University of Kisubi.

Ms. Jane Kasozi Namagga ( MNSc, BNS, RN)

Email: jkasozi@must.ac.ug


Faculty of Medicine- Mbarara University of Science and Technology.

Mr. Ndhego Ramadhan (Msc)

Email: ramadhan.ndhego@sjhresearchafrica.org


Department of Laboratory Sciences - St. Elizabeth’s Institute of Health Professionals.

Mr. Arthur Namara (MSc)

Email: Arthur.Namara@mrcuganda.org

Research Scientist.

MRC/UVRI and LSHTM Uganda Research Unit.

Section of Microbiology

Mr. Musisi Lubowa Nathan (Msc)

Email: nathan.musisi@sjhresearchafrica.org

Head of Microbiology Laboratory.


Department of Biomolecular Resources & Biolab Sciences - Makerere University.

Mr. Ibra Ntulume (MSc)

Email: ibra.ntulume@sjhresearchafrica.org


Department of Microbiology -Kampala International University.

Section of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Dr. Ben Jackson Ayiko (MSc)

Email: ben.ayiko@sjhresearchafrica.org

Gynaecologist & Obstetrician.

Entebbe Regional Referral Hospital


Faculty of Medicine- Islamic University in Uganda.

Section of Biochemistry

Mr.  Kizito Muwonge (Msc)

Email: kizito.muwonge@sjhresearchafrica.org

Dean, Lecturer.

Faculty of Health Sciences - University of Kisubi.

Dr. Saphan Muzoora (Msc)

Email: muzoorasaph@covab.mak.ac.ug 

Head Biochemistry Department.


School of Bio-Security, Biotechnical and Laboratory Sciences – Makerere University

Mr. Timothy Omara (MSc)

Email: timothy.omara@sjhresearchafrica.org

Researcher- Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, School of Sciences and Aerospace Studies, Moi University.

Section of Pediatrics and Child Health

Dr. Monica Etima (MD,Msc)

Email: monica.etima@sjhresearchafrica.org


Makerere university water reed project (Muwrp)

Section of Genetics, and Biotechnology

Dr. Florence Nassimbwa (Ph.D.).

Email: florence.nassimbwa@sjhresearchafrica.org


Uganda Martyrs University.

Section of Histopathology

Dr. Nabusige Jean Brenda Gesa

Email: jean.nabusige@sjhresearchafrica.org

Senior Lecturer.

Head of Pathology Department

School of Health Sciences- Soroti University.

Section of Agriculture, Human Nutrition and Home Economics

Mr. Andrew Seruma Kizito (Ph.D. Fellow)

Email: Andrew.seruma@sjhresearchafrica.org

Egerton University

Advisory Committee Members

Prof. Andrew P. Yiga.

Email: ar@nkumbauniversity.ac.ug

Academic Registrar- Nkumba University

Dr. Katusiime Denis (Ph.D.)

Email: denis.katusiime@sjhresearchafrica.org

Senior Lecturer, and Assistant Director Planning and Development at the University of Kisubi.

Dr. Nixon Niyonzima (MD, Ph.D.)

Email: Nixon.niyonzima@uci.or.ug 

Head of Research and Training Directorate, Uganda Cancer Institute.

Journal Editors:

Mr. David Serunjogi (BBLT, Msc)

Email: david.serunjogi@sjhresearchafrica.org

Journal Coordinator

MRC/UVRI and LSHTM Uganda Research Unit.

Dr. Daniel Opoka (MD)

Email: Daniel.Opoka@mrcuganda.org

Clinical Trial Medical Officer

MRC/UVRI and LSHTM Uganda Research Unit.

Mr. Ivan Mufumba (MSc)

Email: ivan.mufumba@sjhresearchafrica.org

Clinical Epidemiologist

Global health Uganda.

Dr. Isiko Rodgers (MD)

Email: rodgers.isiko@sjhresearchafrica.org


Masaka Regional Referral Hospital

Dr. Veronica Nyakato (MD, MSc)

Email: veronica.nyakato@sjhresearchafrica.org

Department of Pathology Mulago

Makerere University College of Health Sciences

Ethics review committee members

  1. Dr. Sulaiman Mahmood Kakooza (sulaiman.kakooza@sjhresearchafrica.org)
  2. Ms. Josephine Namigadde     ( josephine.namigadde@sjhresearchafrica.org)